KJ says he will back Umno members who want change

PETALING JAYA: Despite being sacked from Umno last Friday (Jan 27), Khairy Jamaluddin (pic) says he will continue supporting “like-minded” party members to push for reform from within.

He also said it was important for his former colleagues in Umno to ditch the “yes man” mentality.

“I understand that we have to be disciplined and loyal to the party. But we shouldn’t be ‘yes-men’.

“If this mentality continues, Umno will no longer be accepted by the Malays,” he said in an interview with Astro Awani on Tuesday (Jan 31).

However, Khairy did not disclose how he would support them.

Umno will hold its party polls from Feb 1 to March 18 to appoint new office-bearers.

While the president and deputy president posts being uncontested, elections for all posts at all levels will proceed as usual.

Umno had postponed its elections for 18 months after the 2018/2021 term ended on June 30, 2021, which meant that its party polls must be held before Dec 30 last year.

In May last year, Umno amended its constitution to allow party elections to be held within six months after the GE15 concludes.

On upcoming state elections, Khairy said that whatever happens should not disrupt the Federal Government even if there were changes in state governments.

“Yes we have the state elections but don’t let it lead to a disturbance in the Federal Government,” he said.

He said everyone should get used to political competition that does not disrupt the decisions that have been made.

“And the decision is that the unity government is led by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.”

Asked about his next move in politics, Khairy kept his cards close to his chest.

“I want to take some time to decide. I don’t want to rush it,” he said, adding that whatever decision that he makes would be one that he allow him to “sleep peacefully”.

Aside from Khairy, Umno supreme council member Tan Sri Noh Omar.was also sacked from the party last Friday (Jan 27) following a supreme council meeting.

Meanwhile, former vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, former Umno information chief Shahril Hamdan, former Youth exco member Datuk Dr Fathul Bari Mat Jahya, former Johor state exco member and Tebrau Umno division chief Datuk Maulizan Bujang and former Jempol MP Datuk Seri Mohd Salim Mohd Shariff were suspended for six years.