Report: 29 BN MPs believed to have signed SDs supporting Muhyiddin as PM

PETALING JAYA: All 29 Barisan Nasional MPs except Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi are believed to have signed statutory declarations (SDs) backing Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as prime minister.

According to a source, this was facilitated by Sembrong Member of Parliament Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein on Sunday night (Nov 20), Utusan Malaysia reported.

This comes after Barisan MPs who are believed to be in disagreement over Ahmad Zahid’s stand of seeking to work with Pakatan Harapan to form a government following GE15.

Earlier, Ahmad Zahid in a statement said that any Barisan MPs who violate party instructions will result in the removal of their party membership including the parliamentary seats.

He said this is in line with the law banning Dewan Rakyat members from changing parties as stipulated under Article 49A of the Federal Constitution.