PM Anwar says new govt based on national unity with Pakatan, BN, GPS as largest coalitions

KUALA LUMPUR: New Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim says he leads a unity government with a convincing majority.

Anwar said he has the support of Pakatan Harapan, Barisan Nasional, Gabungan Parti Sarawak, Warisan, Muda and independents.

Anwar, who was sworn in as Malaysia’s tenth Prime Minister at 5pm Thursday (Nov 24), says that he has the commitment of all Barisan MPs to support the unity government.

“We are appreciative of the fact that we now have the commitment of all 30 MPs from Barisan Nasional,” he said at a press conference at a golf club in Sungai Long.

He said Sarawak Premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg has also assured that GPS will be part and parcel of the unity government.

He said Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) also wanted to approach him for a discussion.

“I take a very open view. This is a national unity government and all are welcomed on condition that we accept the fundamental rules of good governance, no corruption and Malaysia for all Malaysians,” he said.

Anwar also said he will continue to uphold the status of Bahasa Malaysia as the official language, Islam’s status as the official religion, the privileges of the Malays and Bumiputera and the position of the Malay Rulers as enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

“Notwithstanding that Malaysia is more than six decades old. Every Malaysian, regardless of ethnicity, religious belief or region, particularly in Sabah and Sarawak, should be left to feel that they are not ignored in any way,” he said.

None should be marginalised under my administration,” he added.

He said that the focus of his administration would be on the economy and will do whatever it takes to revive the economy, so that the poor and the marginalised will be protected.

The Pakatan Harapan chairman was sworn in before the King at 5pm at Istana Negara here.

In GE15, no party was able to secure a simple majority to form the new Federal Government.

The three main coalitions, namely Pakatan Harapan, Perikatan Nasional and Barisan Nasional won 82, 73 and 30 seats respectively, resulting in a hung Parliament.

Political parties and coalitions failed to reach a consensus following the conclusion of GE15.